The recently concluded 29th Asian Eximbanks Forum (AEBF) Training Program on Delivering Infrastructure Projects Using the Public-Private Partnership (PPP) Model was successfully hosted by PhilEXIM which was held in Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City against the backdrop of world renowned Taal Volcano. The Asian Development Bank (ADB) was equally on hand to support the event by sponsoring the attendance of most of the participants in the event.

Different perspectives with regard the theme of the forum were discussed by speakers from the private and government sectors as well as from the international sector.  The roster of presenters included Trevor Lewis and Jin Sasaki, both of ADB, Octavio Peralta of the Association of Development Financing Institutions in Asia and the Pacific (ADFIAP), Jorgen Kragh of Eksport Kredit Fonden (EKF), Christine Antonio of the Public Private Partnership Center of the Philippines and Joselito Quinto of Unicapital, Inc.

After the forum the delegates were treated to a sumptuous dinner and were entertained with a cultural show which showcased Philippine folk dances.  Foreign participants were toured around Taal Lake, the Taal Heritage Center and the world-famous Bamboo Organ museum in Las Piñas.  The Mall of Asia was the delegates’ last stop for their much-needed souvenir shopping.

AEBF country delegates present at the one-day forum included China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Philippines, South Korea, Thailand and Vietnam.  New observers were also invited at the event which included Bangladesh, Cambodia, Kazakstan, Krykz Republic, Laos, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Langka, and Tajikistan. 

The AEBF is a venue where expertise and knowledge gained by Asian Exim Banks/ECAs amongst the members and explore possible areas of cooperation are shared. It has served as a platform for the CEOs of the Asian ECAs to discuss topics of interest, be it areas of cooperation amongst ECAs, information exchange, promoting intra-regional trade, response to global financial crisis, challenges and sustainable growth mechanisms, regional cooperation and connectivity amongst others. The members have entered into various bilateral and multilateral facilities and arrangements. The members have also executed reciprocal risk participation agreements amongst themselves promoting intra-regional trade.

Its member countries include Australia, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam, with Asian Development Bank (ADB) being a permanent observer.